Museum of Photographic Arts. San Diego, CA

I had a chance to visit the Museum of Photographic Arts and see the rest of Balboa Park, which one poster suggested was the “jewel of San Diego.” The exhibits they had to view at this time were Seeing is BelievingDisorderIndia and The Picturesque, and one more that wasn’t open for viewing on that day about photographer Ansel Adams.

I wasn’t sure what to expect because I had never been to a photographic museum before or even a photographic gallery. I had an idea of how things would work but once I got inside MOPA I was pleasantly surprised by what was in store. The first room was the “Seeing is Believing” exhibit that showcased different ways the photography was previously implemented and the historic techniques that were implied. There was one part of this exhibit that I really enjoyed which was the 3-d (I want to call it a stethoscope, but I’m not 100% on that) “viewing spectacles” that used two images to create an in-depth photo. mopa_night_facade_by_jennifer_dery_crop

My favorite exhibit over all was “Disorder,” each photo captured pulled me in to view the
details and read the details in the plaques. The concepts behind the creative photos were very intriguing to me and sparked a lot of interest in finding more information on the topics such as endangered honeybees. I was very impressed with other photos in the exhibit that included images of civil disputes and living conditions of others all around the world. With the composition tools we’ve been trained to see in class, I was able to recognize certain aspects in the photographs that made it a strong and intriguing photo.

A visit to the Museum of Photographic Arts at Balboa Park, San Diego has definitely encouraged my interest in photography. Taking a walk through a gallery and viewing the photographs and different styles by other established photographers was like a creative refresher. Being able to read the concepts behind the photos and then observing the photo to see how the photographer may have composed that allows me to reflect back on my own skills and gain new perspectives.

Leave a Reply

